''

Al DiPierno

”ProstateAl was previously and advocate for ProstateCancer.net.

I was born in Brooklyn, NY on May 17th, 1952. I attended school in Brooklyn and upon graduation from high school, I wanted to get out of the Big City, so I attended the University of Dayton in Ohio. It was there, while getting my engineering degree, that I meet my wife and soul mate Barbara. We have been married for 43 years. We have two children and 3 wonderful grandchildren.

During a routine physical exam in November of 2006, at the age of 54, my blood work revealed a high PSA (7.2). After a second blood test resulted in the same reading, I was referred to a urologist for further investigation and testing. After testing and a biopsy, I was diagnosed with Stage T2a Prostate Cancer. I had a 3 of 12 cores come back positive with a Gleason score of 7 (4+3). Not the most aggressive, but not a cancer that was eligible for watchful waiting.

Although I wanted the cancer removed immediately, I took my time and talked to multiple doctors regarding the various options that were available to me. My decision was to have robotic (De Vinci) surgery in hopes that I would rid myself of the cancer.

I currently live in Medford, NJ and I am still working as the Vice President of Sales for a Company located in Milwaukee, WI. I still travel a great deal, and I’m looking forward to retirement at the end of 2018.

Click here to read all of Al's articles on ProstateCancer.net.

By providing your email address, you are agreeing to our privacy policy. We never sell or share your email address.